Zero-commission online store builders in India (2026) — who really takes 0%, and what still gets deducted
“0% commission” is printed on a lot of pricing pages, and it means less than it sounds. Three different cuts can come out of a ₹1,000 sale: a platform commission, a transaction fee, and the payment gateway’s charge. A builder can truthfully say 0% commission while charging a per-order “service fee”, or while routing your money through its own gateway. This post separates the three, works the maths on ₹1,000, and sorts the Indian builders into the ones that take a cut and the ones that do not, as of September 2026.
The honest zeros, where the money settles into your own gateway account and the builder takes nothing per sale, are SitesPlaced (free to publish, 0% on every plan), WSTORES (0% transaction fees, but no free plan), StartupInMinutes (0% platform fee on its free plan), FlexiCommerce (0%, from ₹999/month) and Wix and Squarespace (0% on your own gateway, on paid plans). The ones that take a cut are Dukaan (a per-order service fee), StoreBase (10% of sales until a monthly cap), Shopify (an extra 0.5–2% on outside gateways in India) and Instamojo (its own gateway plus a plan fee). Whatever you pick, the gateway’s own charge, about 2% plus GST on an online payment as of September 2026, stays; it goes to Razorpay, PhonePe or Cashfree, not to the builder. Our pick is SitesPlaced: ₹0 to publish, 0% commission on every plan, and payments on your own account.
TL;DR
- • Three cuts, not one: platform commission (the platform’s share), transaction fee (a builder’s extra on payments it did not process), gateway charge (the payment company’s fee). “0% commission” only promises the first is zero.
- • On ₹1,000, as an example: a marketplace leaves you roughly ₹750–₹850; a 0% store paid through your own gateway leaves about ₹980; a 0% store paid by COD, WhatsApp checkout or direct UPI leaves ₹1,000 before shipping.
- • Really 0%: SitesPlaced, WSTORES, StartupInMinutes, Shopexer (on its shipping plan), FlexiCommerce, Wix, Squarespace. Only SitesPlaced, StartupInMinutes and Shopexer are also free to publish.
- • Take a cut: Dukaan (per-order service fee), StoreBase (10% until a cap), Shopify (0.5–2% on outside gateways), Instamojo (own gateway plus plan fee); Gumroad, Payhip and Sellfy for digital products.
- • Still on the bill at 0%: the gateway fee, courier charges, and, if you switch it on, Shiprocket’s 2% for its 1-click checkout.
The three kinds of cut
1. Platform commission
A percentage of each sale that the platform keeps for being the platform. Marketplaces such as Amazon and Flipkart charge it: per our marketplace vs own website comparison, typically 5–25% of the sale price depending on the marketplace and the category, plus fixed closing fees and payment-collection fees, so the all-in take commonly lands between 15% and 25%. Some store builders charge it too, under a different name: StoreBase takes 10% of sales until a ₹999/month cap (as listed in August 2026), and Dukaan calls its cut a per-order service fee. The tell is any line on the pricing page that is a percentage of your sales rather than a fixed monthly amount.
2. Transaction fee
A percentage a builder adds on top of the payment gateway, usually for payments it did not process itself. The best-known example is Shopify: per our comparison it adds 0.5–2% on outside gateways unless you use Shopify Payments, which is not available in India, so every Indian Shopify store pays it. A quieter version is a sales cap: Sellfy advertises zero transaction fees, then charges 2% on revenue above each plan’s annual limit, which is a commission framed as a plan limit. A transaction fee is easy to miss because it sits next to the gateway fee and looks like part of it.
3. Payment gateway charge
The fee the gateway takes for moving the money from the buyer’s bank to yours. Per our Razorpay vs PhonePe vs Cashfree comparison (September 2026 rate cards; negotiated rates differ), Razorpay charges about 2% plus GST on most methods, with UPI often lower or 0% under promotions; Cashfree about 1.9–2% plus GST, with UPI often cheaper; PhonePe about 2% on cards with competitive UPI pricing. This charge exists on every channel, including marketplaces, where it is bundled into the payment-collection fee. It is not a commission, and no builder can make it disappear; a builder can only decide whether the gateway is yours (the money settles to your account, you see the rate card) or its own (the money passes through the builder first). Cash on delivery, WhatsApp checkout and a direct UPI transfer to your UPI ID have no gateway charge at all, though a courier may charge a handling fee on a COD parcel.
The maths on ₹1,000 of sales (an example)
One ₹1,000 order, sold through each kind of channel. The figures are as listed in the posts linked above and are an example, not a quote: commission slabs, caps and rate cards change, and shipping is excluded on every row.
| Where you sell | Platform commission | Builder transaction fee | Gateway charge | You keep, before shipping |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Marketplace (example: commission inside the 5–25% range, plus closing and payment-collection fees) | ₹50–₹250 | — | Inside the closing and collection fees | About ₹750–₹850 (the all-in take is typically 15–25%) |
| StoreBase (₹99/month + 10% of sales until a ₹999/month cap) | ₹100 | — | About ₹20 + GST, via your gateway | About ₹880, before the ₹99 monthly |
| Dukaan free plan (per-order service fee of about 4.99%, capped at ₹200) | About ₹50 | — | About ₹20 + GST, via your gateway | About ₹930 |
| Shopify in India (outside gateway, since Shopify Payments is not available) | ₹0 | ₹5–₹20 (0.5–2%) | About ₹20 + GST | About ₹960–₹975, before the ~₹1,994/month plan |
| SitesPlaced, paid online through your own Razorpay, PhonePe or Cashfree | ₹0 | ₹0 | About ₹20 + GST, paid to the gateway | About ₹980 |
| SitesPlaced, cash on delivery, WhatsApp checkout or a direct UPI transfer | ₹0 | ₹0 | ₹0 (a courier may charge a COD handling fee) | ₹1,000 |
Marketplace ranges from our marketplace-vs-own-website post; StoreBase and the Indian builders as listed in August 2026; Dukaan and Shopify per our 2026 comparisons; gateway rates from our September 2026 gateway comparison. GST applies on top of the gateway’s fee. Prices change; check each pricing page.
Two things stand out. The gateway’s ₹20-odd is the same on nearly every row, so it is not what separates a good deal from a bad one. And the marketplace’s cut is not a scam: that ₹150–₹250 is buying you a shopper you did not have. The unfair part is paying it again on that shopper’s second, third and tenth order. A 0% store exists to take those repeat orders, and the playbook for moving them is in how to sell online without marketplace commissions, so we will not repeat it here.
Marketplaces: the biggest cut, and what it buys
A marketplace listing sits in front of shoppers on day one, with search, reviews and a trusted checkout already built; a new store starts with zero visitors. That is what 5–25% commission plus closing and collection fees pays for, and for products people search for by name it can be worth it. What it does not buy you is the customer: their number and address stay with the marketplace, and the listing page shows competitors’ products next to yours. Whether to sell there, on your own store, or both, is a decision we have worked through in marketplace vs your own website and, for the festive season specifically, in Diwali: marketplace vs own store. This post is about the builders.
Builders that take a cut
Only builders whose fee our earlier comparisons recorded are listed here, with the month recorded. If a builder you are considering is missing, read its fee line yourself using the checklist further down.
Dukaan — a per-order service fee
Per our 2026 comparison: roughly 4.99% per order on the free plan, down to 0.99% on the top tier, capped at ₹200 per order, on top of your gateway; a custom domain sits on paid tiers. Good at: the fastest catalogue you can put up. Not good at: the fee climbs with every sale until you pay for a higher tier to lower it, which is a commission in all but name. Confirm on their pricing page; alternatives in the best Dukaan alternatives.
StoreBase — 10% of sales until a cap
As listed in August 2026: ₹99/month plus 10% of sales, with the total capped at ₹999/month. Good at: managed setup and lifetime support, which is rare at this price, and at very low sales the total is small. Not good at: a seller doing ₹9,000 a month already pays the full ₹999, so above that it is a ₹999/month plan. Compared in the StoreBase alternative.
Shopify — a transaction fee on outside gateways
Shopify takes no commission, but per our comparison it adds 0.5–2% on outside gateways because Shopify Payments is not available in India, on top of a plan that starts around ₹1,994 a month, and UPI, COD and WhatsApp usually need paid apps. Good at: scale, international selling, the app ecosystem. Not good at: a small Indian store’s bill. See the Shopify alternative for India.
Instamojo — its own gateway plus a plan fee
Payment links first, storefront second. Per our comparison it uses its own gateway, Instamojo Pay, with MDR (the gateway charge) plus a plan fee, and its storefront plans step up as you add modules. Good at: selling digital products through payment links with no storefront. Not good at: a store where you want your own Razorpay account and the rate card in your own name. Compared in SitesPlaced vs Instamojo.
Digital-product platforms — Gumroad, Payhip, Sellfy
Gumroad charges 10% plus 50 cents on every sale with no monthly fee. Payhip’s free plan takes 5% and its $29/month plan takes 2%. Sellfy advertises zero transaction fees but caps annual sales per plan and charges 2% above the cap. Good at: a first digital product with nothing to pay until it sells, and Gumroad handles tax as the merchant of record. Not good at: volume; the per-sale cut never stops. Our worked comparisons: Gumroad, Payhip, Sellfy, and for Indian sellers selling digital downloads with no commission.
Builders that really take 0%
SitesPlaced — 0% on every plan, free to publish
The free plan publishes a real store: unlimited products and orders, 0% commission and no transaction fee, UPI, cards and net banking through your own Razorpay, PhonePe or Cashfree account (Stripe and PayPal for shoppers abroad), cash on delivery with an optional COD charge you set, WhatsApp checkout, coupons, the free-shipping bar, PDF invoices, Shiprocket and Shipmozo, and all 16 store templates, on a free yourname.sitesplaced.site address with a small badge. Money settles into your own gateway account; the only deduction is the gateway’s fee, and it goes to the gateway. Starter (₹199/month, ₹1,990/year) adds your own domain, removes the badge, turns on store analytics and Meta Pixel with the Conversions API, and keeps store pages ready close to shoppers so they answer about 4× faster than on the free plan (about 75 ms instead of about 330 ms, measured 28 September 2026 on live paid stores). Growth (₹499/month, ₹4,990/year) adds upsells, Buy X Get Y, verified reviews with Google stars, the loyalty programme, WhatsApp Business API order alerts and the 1-click checkouts. Code FREE7 gives 7 days free on Starter or Growth with autopay; cancel before the first charge and pay nothing. 45 real customer stores with 1,300+ products are shown in real websites built with SitesPlaced.
Good at: the plainest zero on this list: nothing per sale on any plan, your own gateway, and ₹0 to go live. Not good at: the things we do not have: per-product COD, pincode restriction, delivery slots, pre-orders, a returns module, gift cards, manual order creation and marketplace sync do not exist. Cart reminders need the AI Co-founder plan (₹1,499/month). Verified for Indian sellers; sellers elsewhere should check the integrations page.
WSTORES — 0% transaction fees, no free plan
As listed in August 2026: Basic ₹399/month, Pro ₹499/month, a ₹5,999 three-year plan, GST included, with 0% transaction fees on both monthly plans. There is no ₹0 tier; the 7-day trial needs a UPI AutoPay mandate and bills on day 8. Good at: a WhatsApp-first store with unlimited products on Basic, and the three-year deal for a seller who has decided to stay. Not good at: starting free; shipping, invoices and the custom domain are Pro-only. Details in WSTORES pricing explained.
StartupInMinutes — 0% platform fee on a real free plan
As listed in August 2026: a Free Forever plan with unlimited products, a 0% platform fee and Razorpay available on free; three images per product and two templates; shipping on the ₹999/month Pro plan, which also brings an onboarding specialist who stays until your first sale. Good at: a genuine ₹0 with no cut. Not good at: a store that ships through a courier without paying ₹999/month.
Shopexer — zero commission on its shipping plan
Its homepage lists a free-forever plan with unlimited products, UPI and card payments, integrated shipping, WhatsApp order updates and zero commission on the Shopexer shipping plan; the public pricing page returned a 404 when we checked in August 2026, so the free plan was the only one visible. Good at: free, with merchant apps for Android and iOS. Not good at: telling you what happens next; with no visible upgrade path, read the fee line carefully before you depend on it.
FlexiCommerce — 0%, from ₹999/month
As listed in August 2026: 0% commission, four payment gateways, GST invoices, a customer app, a delivery app and multi-vendor on higher plans; no free plan, ₹999/month Starter, and a 14-day trial whose store goes offline when it ends. Good at: a business that genuinely needs its own app in the Play Store or a multi-vendor marketplace. Not good at: a solo seller’s budget.
Wix and Squarespace — 0% on your own gateway, paid plans to sell
Both are general website builders with a store add-on and both take 0% on your own gateway. Per our 2026 comparison, Wix’s free tier shows Wix ads and cannot sell, and selling in India needs the Core plan at about ₹399/month billed a year upfront; Squarespace starts from about $16/month with commerce on higher plans. Good at: layout control and templates for a site where the store is one section. Not good at: the Indian defaults; UPI, COD and WhatsApp checkout are not built in the way Indian builders build them. Check their current plan page for what each tier includes.
Shop2Host and StoreMaker — commission not listed
Neither listed a commission figure when we compared them in August 2026. Shop2Host has a free tier of ten products with COD and its own built-in UPI (S2H Pay), with Razorpay, Shiprocket and a custom domain add-on on Pro at ₹690/month. StoreMaker has no free plan, a ₹50 trial, and Starter at ₹222/month for 30 products with UPI and COD only. “Not listed” is not the same as 0%: ask, in writing, before you pay.
Side by side
| Builder | Platform commission | Transaction fee | Cheapest way to publish | Where the money settles | As listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SitesPlaced | 0% on every plan | None | ₹0 (free plan, unlimited products) | Your own Razorpay, PhonePe, Cashfree, Stripe or PayPal | September 2026 |
| WSTORES | 0% transaction fees | None listed | ₹399/month Basic; no free plan; 7-day trial on a UPI AutoPay mandate | UPI, cards and COD on Basic; gateway account not stated | August 2026 |
| StartupInMinutes | 0% platform fee | None listed | ₹0 Free Forever (3 images per product, 2 templates); shipping on ₹999/month Pro | Razorpay listed on the free plan | August 2026 |
| Shopexer | Zero commission on its shipping plan | None listed | ₹0; pricing page returned a 404 when checked | UPI and cards on free; gateway account not stated | August 2026 |
| FlexiCommerce | 0% | None listed | ₹999/month Starter; no free plan | Four gateways listed | August 2026 |
| Wix | 0% (your own gateway) | None listed | Core plan, about ₹399/month billed a year upfront, to sell in India | Your own gateway | 2026 comparison |
| Squarespace | 0% (your own gateway) | None listed | From about $16/month; commerce on higher plans | Your own gateway | 2026 comparison |
| Shop2Host / StoreMaker | Not listed | Not listed | ₹0 for 10 products / ₹222/month for 30 products | S2H Pay UPI on free / UPI and COD only | August 2026 |
| Dukaan | Per-order service fee, 0.99–4.99%, capped ₹200 | — | Free tier; custom domain on paid tiers | On top of your gateway | 2026 comparison |
| StoreBase | 10% of sales until the ₹999/month cap | — | ₹99/month | Not stated | August 2026 |
| Shopify | 0% | 0.5–2% extra on outside gateways | About ₹1,994/month; no free plan | An outside gateway (Shopify Payments not in India) | September 2026 |
| Instamojo | Plan fee | Instamojo Pay MDR | Check their plan page | Instamojo Pay, its own gateway | 2026 comparison |
Every figure about another company is as recorded in our earlier comparisons on the date shown. Prices change; check their pricing page. The gateway’s own fee applies on every row where a payment goes through a gateway. Every SitesPlaced line is on the pricing page.
0% is not free: what stays on the bill
- • The gateway fee. About 2% plus GST on an online payment as of September 2026, paid to Razorpay, PhonePe or Cashfree; often less on UPI. It is the cost of card and UPI rails, not a commission, and it disappears only on COD, WhatsApp checkout and direct UPI.
- • Courier charges. A rate per parcel through Shiprocket, Shipmozo or Rehbar Post, and a COD handling fee on cash orders, which is why many sellers set an optional COD charge and show it before the buy button. See cash on delivery for small online stores.
- • An optional per-order charge you can switch on. On the SitesPlaced Growth plan, Shiprocket’s 1-click checkout gives buyers saved addresses and UPI, cards and COD in one step, with no gateway account of your own needed; Shiprocket charges a flat 2% of order value per successful order and settles the rest to you. SitesPlaced takes 0% of it. Leave it off and nothing is charged.
- • The plan, when you want a domain. A free store lives on a yourname.sitesplaced.site address with a small badge; your own domain starts with Starter at ₹199/month. That is a fixed amount, not a share of sales, which is the whole point.
- • Your time. Without a marketplace, bringing visitors is your job: Instagram, WhatsApp, repeat buyers. The playbook is in how to sell online without marketplace commissions.
How to read a pricing page
- • Find the line that is a percentage of sales. “Service fee”, “platform fee”, “success fee”, “convenience fee”: whatever the name, if it scales with your revenue it is a commission.
- • Find the cap. A capped fee tells you the real monthly price once you are selling: ₹99 plus 10% capped at ₹999 is a ₹999/month plan for anyone doing more than ₹9,000 a month.
- • Ask whose gateway it is. If the money passes through the builder’s own gateway, you are on its rate card and its settlement terms; if it is your Razorpay, PhonePe or Cashfree account, you see the rate and the money is yours on the gateway’s schedule.
- • Separate transaction fees from gateway fees. Two percentages next to each other are two charges. One goes to the payment company; the other, if present, goes to the builder.
- • Check what “free” cannot do. A product cap, shipping held back for paid plans, or a store that goes offline when a trial ends turns a free plan into a trial with no clock. Our root page on the best free online store builders in India scores each free plan on exactly this.
- • Read the trial terms. A trial that needs a UPI AutoPay mandate bills on its own schedule unless you cancel; know the date.
Which one for whom
- You want to publish today for ₹0 with nothing per sale, on your own gateway: SitesPlaced.
- You want ₹0 and a 0% platform fee and do not ship through a courier: StartupInMinutes, or SitesPlaced, which ships free too.
- You have decided to stay three years and want the lowest cash outlay for a domain: WSTORES at ₹5,999 once, after reading its trial mandate.
- You need your own customer app or a multi-vendor marketplace: FlexiCommerce.
- The store is one section of a designed website: Wix or Squarespace, on a paid plan.
- You sell one digital product and expect a few sales a month: a per-sale platform such as Gumroad is genuinely cheaper until the volume grows; our worked comparisons show where the maths turns.
- Strangers finding you is the whole game: a marketplace, with a 0% store of your own for repeat orders.
Who should not pick SitesPlaced
- • You need a marketplace’s built-in traffic. 0% on a store nobody visits is still ₹0. If you have no audience on Instagram or WhatsApp yet, a marketplace listing may earn its commission, and you can run both.
- • You need per-product COD, pincode restriction, delivery slots, pre-orders, a returns module, gift cards, manual order creation or marketplace sync. None of these exist on SitesPlaced today.
- • You want a builder’s own built-in UPI without opening a gateway account. SitesPlaced connects your own Razorpay, PhonePe or Cashfree; Shop2Host lists built-in UPI (S2H Pay) instead. Opening a gateway account is a one-time KYC, and it is why the rate card is in your name.
- • You sell outside India. Stripe and PayPal work for your shoppers and Dodo Payments handles subscriptions, but we have verified the 0% claim and the integrations for Indian sellers; check the integrations page for your country.
- • You are trading internationally at scale with a developer. Shopify, with its transaction fee priced in.
Frequently asked questions
Which online store builders in India charge 0% commission?
As of September 2026, the builders whose own comparisons or pricing pages list 0%: SitesPlaced (0% on every plan, free to publish, payments on your own Razorpay, PhonePe or Cashfree account), WSTORES (0% transaction fees, but no free plan, from ₹399/month), StartupInMinutes (0% platform fee on its free plan), Shopexer (zero commission on its shipping plan), FlexiCommerce (0%, from ₹999/month) and Wix and Squarespace (0% on your own gateway, on paid plans). Dukaan charges a per-order service fee, StoreBase takes 10% of sales until a monthly cap, and Shopify adds 0.5–2% on outside gateways in India. Prices change; check each pricing page.
What is the difference between a commission, a transaction fee and a gateway charge?
A platform commission is a share of each sale the platform keeps for being the platform; marketplaces charge it, and so do some builders under names like ‘service fee’. A transaction fee is a percentage a builder adds on top of the payment gateway for payments it did not process itself, such as Shopify’s 0.5–2% on outside gateways. A payment gateway charge is the fee Razorpay, PhonePe or Cashfree take for moving the money, about 2% plus GST on most methods as of September 2026, and it exists on every channel, including marketplaces, where it is bundled into a payment-collection fee. A builder can truthfully say 0% commission while one of the other two still applies.
Is UPI really free for a seller?
A direct UPI transfer to your own UPI ID has no platform fee and no gateway fee: the full amount lands in your account. UPI through a gateway at checkout is charged at the gateway’s rate card, which as of September 2026 was often lower than cards and sometimes 0% under promotions; Razorpay, PhonePe and Cashfree each publish their own. Cash on delivery has no gateway fee either, though the courier may charge a COD handling fee on delivery.
Does SitesPlaced take any cut of my sales?
No. SitesPlaced charges 0% commission and no transaction fee on every plan, including the free one. Online payments settle into your own Razorpay, PhonePe or Cashfree account (Stripe or PayPal for shoppers outside India), and the only deduction is that gateway’s own fee, which goes to the gateway. Cash on delivery, WhatsApp checkout and a direct UPI transfer carry no fee at all from us. The one optional per-order charge is Shiprocket’s 1-click checkout on the Growth plan, where Shiprocket charges a flat 2% of order value per successful order; you choose whether to switch it on.
Is Shopify 0% commission in India?
Shopify does not take a commission, but per our comparison it adds an extra 0.5–2% on payments through outside gateways because Shopify Payments is not available in India, on top of the gateway’s own fee and a plan that starts around ₹1,994 a month. Confirm on their pricing page.
Does Dukaan charge commission?
Per our 2026 comparison, Dukaan charges a per-order service fee of roughly 4.99% on the free plan down to 0.99% on its top tier, capped at ₹200 per order, on top of your payment gateway. It is not called a commission, but it works like one. Confirm on their pricing page.
What about GST on these fees?
Payment gateways add GST to their fee, so an ‘about 2%’ rate costs a little more than ₹20 on a ₹1,000 order. Some builders list plan prices with GST included (WSTORES does), others add it at checkout, so check before comparing two monthly prices. How to treat gateway fees and plan fees in your own books, and whether you need a GSTIN to sell, is a question for a CA; most small-merchant categories can connect a gateway as a sole proprietor with PAN, bank proof and identity.
Is a 0% builder cheaper than a marketplace?
Per sale, yes: on ₹1,000 you keep about ₹980 after the gateway on a 0% store, against roughly ₹750–₹850 on a marketplace whose all-in take is 15–25%. What the marketplace’s cut buys is shoppers you did not have. If most of your buyers already come from Instagram, WhatsApp or repeat orders, you are paying the commission on traffic you brought yourself, and that is the case for a 0% store. If strangers finding you is the whole game, the marketplace may earn its cut. Many sellers run both.
Verdict
“0% commission” is only the first of three questions. Ask the other two, whether the builder adds a transaction fee and whose gateway the money passes through, and the field sorts itself. Dukaan, StoreBase, Shopify and Instamojo each take something per sale under one name or another. WSTORES, StartupInMinutes, Shopexer, FlexiCommerce, Wix and Squarespace really take 0%, and each has its own catch: no free plan, no courier on free, no visible pricing, ₹999 a month, or a paid plan billed a year upfront.
SitesPlaced is the pick as of September 2026 because it clears all three questions at ₹0: no commission on any plan, no transaction fee, and payments on your own Razorpay, PhonePe or Cashfree account, with COD and WhatsApp checkout carrying no fee at all. What you pay is the gateway’s own charge on online payments, the courier, and, only when you want your own domain and the faster pages, a fixed ₹199 a month. If you already sell on a marketplace, keep it for discovery and send the repeat orders here. If you are starting from your Instagram followers, there is no cut to avoid in the first place.
Keep the whole ₹1,000
Publish free with 0% commission, no transaction fee, and UPI, cards, COD and WhatsApp checkout on your own account. Your own domain and store pages that answer about 4× faster from ₹199/month; 7 days free with code FREE7 and autopay.
Related reading
- How to sell online without marketplace commissions
- Marketplace vs your own website: where should you sell?
- Razorpay vs PhonePe vs Cashfree for a small online store
- Indian online store builders compared (2026)
- The best free online store builders in India
- Online store builder pricing in India (2026)
- Cash on delivery for small online stores in India
- Best online store builders for increasing sales (2026)


























